Why choose to use cloth nappies?

After talking nappies with a friend I found out that it would be a good idea to write about why I chose to use cloth nappies.

My first reason is related to the protection of the environment: every year, 180 000 children using disposable nappies produce 60 000 tonns of garbage in Norway. If every family was to use cloth nappies, house waste would be reduced by 5%. It’s just a little drop in the sea, that’s true, but hard to ignore it when the future of our planet is at stake. Of course, there are always some people who like to argue with the fact that I use electricity and detergent to wash my nappies, which are not good for the environment at all. Yes, I do use electricity to wash the nappies, but no I do not use any detergent as I use either soap-nuts or a biowashball. And it is of course better to not use a tumble-drier to dry the nappies, as it consumes electricity.

The second reason why I chose to use cloth nappies lies in the cost of nappies: disposable nappies cost between 200 and 500 euros per child and per year. That is to say between 400 and 1000 euros for a chil using nappies during two years. Let’s say there are from 2 to 3 children in a family and the total cost is between 1000 to 3000 euros. The cloth nappies I bought cost me approximately 580 euros, including 15 nappies of two different sizes, rice paper, waterproof panties, etc… and what’s best, I’ll be able to use them with all my children. Furthermore, in some countries, you can get financial help from the town recycling station for using cloth nappies. I got 75 euros from mine. Total cost: around 500 euros. Now that’s a good investment.

Finally, I read in many articles that children who use cloth nappies quit using nappies earlier than the others: as a matter of fact, modern disposable nappies try as hard as they can to make the child feel “dry”, whereas cloth nappies make your child feel wet. And since that wet feeling is not comfortable, the child tends to use the potty earlier in order to get rid of that feeling. That’s a great plus, if you ask me.

So, are you convinced yet?

One Response

  1. I too recently found out about the BioWashball. I have only used it for a week now, but my clothes are softer and its an easy way to do my part for the environment. Besides, in this economy, this plastic ball will wash 1000 washes and its under $35. Thats going to save me a few bucks – the natural detergents can be expensive! So far, I really like the biowashball…

Leave a Reply

